fbpx

Installing a hot tub on a balcony

Having a hot tub on a balcony is a privilege that people living in flats want to afford, sometimes at any price. Fortunately, outdoor hot tubs are becoming more and more affordable, even for average budgets. Therefore, in order to make the most of the advantages that a spa at home can offer, especially those privileged moments that can be had alone or shared with family or friends, it is important to know what the different conditions are for the installation of a spa on a balcony.

What you need to know before installing a hot tub on a balcony

Once the decision is made to have it installed on a balcony, before proceeding with thepurchase of a spa, it is nevertheless advisable to check that the ground surface on which it is to be placed is strong enough. The strength of the terrace is the first criterion to be taken into account before installing a hot tub on a balcony. In addition to the weight of the hot tub, the number of users that could cause overweight and therefore the disintegration of the floor structure must be taken into account. The engineer in charge of your building will be able to advise you on this.

The other criterion to take into account before installing a spa in a flat is tohave the agreement of the condominium syndicate. Although your terrace is a private area, the structure of the building may be considered a common area. The syndicate will not refuse you its authorisation if it is accepted that the engineer has validated your project. Once you have received approval for the installation of your spa, there are still a few safety precautions to be followed.

Safety measures to be respected

Once it is accepted that the installation of your hot tub on a balcony is safe, there are a few safety precautions that must be followed before you can bathe there. These safety measures relate to the surface of the terrace, the height of the spa and its accessibility.

The installation of a spa on a balcony requires a large space. This avoids having to occupy the entire area. On the other hand, the decision to have it installed there requires the height of the spa to be well below that of the balcony railing. Otherwise, it will need to be extended. Finally, access to the spa must be safe. It should be safe to enter and exit. To this end, it is advisable to choose a spa model that is not too high for easy access. Also, to avoid slipping when exiting the spa, it is recommended to place a non-slip mat.

The advantages of having a softub spa

In general, the spa weighs 500kg/m2 for 4 places. When the engineer has assessed that this load cannot be supported by the ground, the solution is to proceed with the consolidation of the terrace. The objective is to distribute the load over the entire surface. However, there is also a simple solution that does not require additional work and unnecessary expense. This is to buy a Softub spa, which has the advantage of being light and therefore easily transportable, unlike the classic model.

The Softub is a mobile spa, weighing only 40kg empty and 350kg with water and users. It has the added advantage that it can easily pass through all doors and stairs. In addition to the mobility and accessibility, another advantage of the Softub spa is that it can be operated from a 220V socket.

It's enough to make you think twice about buying an outdoor spa.

    Receive our catalogue

fbpx

L’installation d’un spa sur balcon

Avoir un spa sur balcon est un privilège que les personnes vivant en appartement veulent s’offrir, parfois à tout prix. Fort heureusement, le spa extérieur de plus en plus s’inscrit même dans des budgets moyens. Dès lors, pour profiter au maximum des avantages que peut offrir un spa à domicile, notamment ces moments privilégiés qu’il permet d’avoir seul ou de partager en famille ou entre amis, il est important de connaître quelles sont les différentes conditions pour l’installation d’un spa sur balcon.

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant d’installer un spa sur balcon

Une fois que la décision est celle de le faire installer sur balcon, avant de procéder à l’achat d’un spa, il convient néanmoins de vérifier que la surface du sol sur laquelle on veut le placer est assez solide. La résistance de la terrasse est le premier critère à prendre en compte avant l’aménagement d’un spa sur balcon. En effet, outre le poids du spa, il faut tenir en compte le nombre de ses utilisateurs pouvant causer un surpoids, et donc une désagrégation de la structure du sol. Pour cette vérification, l’ingénieur en charge des travaux de réalisation de votre édifice pourra vous renseigner.

L’autre critère à prendre en compte avant l’installation d’un spa en appartement, c’est d’avoir l’accord du syndicat de copropriété. Car, bien que votre terrasse constitue une partie privative, il peut se trouver que la structure du bâtiment soit considérée comme une partie commune. Le syndic ne vous refusera pas son autorisation s’il est admis que l’ingénieur a validé votre projet. Une fois que l’aval pour les travaux d’installation de votre spa vous est accordé, il reste quelques consignes de sécurité à respecter.

Les mesures de sécurité à respecter

Une fois qu’il est admis que l’installation de votre spa sur balcon ne représente aucun risque, il faut toutefois respecter quelques consignes de sécurité avant d’y prendre vos bains. Ces mesures de sécurité concernent la surface de la terrasse, la hauteur du spa et son accessibilité.

L’aménagement d’un spa sur un balcon nécessite d’avoir un grand espace. Ceci évite d’avoir à l’occuper entièrement. D’autre part, la décision de la faire installer à cet endroit exige que la hauteur du spa soit largement inférieure à celle de la rambarde du balcon. Autrement, elle nécessitera d’être rallongée. Enfin, l’accès au spa ne doit présenter aucun risque. Il faudrait qu’on y entre et y sorte en toute sécurité. À cet effet, il est conseillé de choisir un modèle de spa pas trop haut pour faciliter l’accès. Aussi, pour éviter de glisser à la sortie du spa, il est recommandé d’y placer un tapis antidérapant.

Les avantages d’avoir un spa softub

En général, le spa pèse 500kg/m2 pour 4 places. Lorsque l’ingénieur a évalué que cette charge ne peut être supportée par le sol, la solution consiste alors à procéder à la consolidation de la terrasse. L’objectif étant la répartition de la charge sur l’ensemble de la surface. Il existe aussi cependant une solution simple qui ne nécessite pas des travaux supplémentaires et une dépense inutile. Celle-ci consiste à acheter un spa Softub qui offre l’avantage d’être léger, et donc facilement transportable contrairement au modèle classique.

Le spa Softub est un spa mobile, il pèse seulement 40kg vide et 350 kg avec l’eau et ces utilisateurs. Il présente en plus l’avantage qu’il peut facilement passer par toutes les portes et les escaliers. À cet avantage de mobilité et d’accessibilité, on ajoutera un autre avantage du spa Softub, c’est qu’une prise de 220V peut le faire fonctionner.

De quoi vous faire réfléchir à l’achat de votre spa extérieur.

    Recevez notre catalogue